Skip to main content
Rulers are a convenient tool for aligning elements on a form. Elements that need to be placed on the same vertical or horizontal line can be bound to the appropriate ruler. When a ruler is moved, all the elements bound to it move together, so you do not need to select the elements manually each time. You can bind two sides of an element to two parallel rulers. In this case, moving the rulers changes the size of the element. If you bind several elements to two parallel rulers, you can change their sizes at the same time.

Add rulers

Add a ruler to a page in one of the following ways:
  • Click one of the main rulers on the edges of the form. Clicking the horizontal ruler adds a vertical ruler, and vice versa.
  • Select the Horizontal Ruler tool to add a horizontal ruler or the Vertical Ruler tool to add a vertical ruler, and then click where you want the new ruler.

Bind elements to rulers

To bind an element to a ruler, place one of the element’s borders on the ruler. You can do this by moving the ruler, moving the element, or resizing the element. When the automatic binding mode (the Snap Align Rulers to Elements tool) is on, moving a ruler binds it to all the elements sufficiently close to it. This mode is turned off by default. When you select a ruler, all the elements bound to it are highlighted in the ruler’s color. When you select an object bound to a ruler, the small square on the bound side of the object turns red, so you can always tell which rulers an element is bound to and which elements are bound to a particular ruler.

Move rulers and elements

Move a ruler around the form by dragging it while holding down the left mouse button. Two rulers in the same place merge into one. When you move a ruler, all the elements bound to it move too. If an element is bound to two parallel rulers, its size changes when you move one of the rulers (if the element allows resizing).

Unbind elements

To unbind an element, select it and move it away from its ruler.

Delete rulers

To delete a ruler, select it and press Delete, or select the Delete command on the menu.